He shouted his harsh pathos…

He shouted his harsh pathos at a wild and lonely wind, but there was no response.

“He shouted his harsh pathos at a wild and lonely wind, but there was no response.”

The Way of an Indian – The Medicine Fight Of The Chis Chis Chash (Frederic Remington)

Then off through the withering cold and powdery snow moved the black figure of despair tottering slowly away from the sound of rifles which grew fainter at each step. He chattered and mumbled, half to himself, half to the unseen influences of nature….

“Oh! Bad Gods, oh! Evil Spirits of the night, come take my shadow. You have stolen my boy; you have put out my lodge fire; put out the fire of my body! Take vengeance on me! I am deserted by the Good Gods! I am ready to go! I am waiting!”

About this entry